I keep searching for music. I am always looking for it.

Recently came across two TV ads for phones with good music.

1. Samsung S4. They featured ‘i dont care, I love it’ by icona pop. The ad, as you can see here features a lot of guys pumping up themselves before an all important match (or halftime, or whatever!) using the collaborative listening feature. Song is good but I couldnt make much sense of the way it was used in the commercial. I don’t care, I love it?? for a match win? really Samsung??

Anyway, much of what samsung does doesnt make sense to most of us.

2. Apple –  they used Goldfrapp ooh la la la – i dont use iPhone, but there is a ‘Thing’ about how apple uses good music to sell their products. So, to promote their iPhone5s (which had all the glitter going for it, quite literally), they picked up this song and made this ad.. The song has a techno sound to it but the catch is in lyrics.

Dial up my number now
Weaving it through the wire
Switch me on, turn me up
Don’t want it baudelaire
Just glitter lust
Switch me on, turn me up
I want to touch you
You’re just made for love

The bold italic part is a part of the original song and doesn’t feature in the ad but what a spot on description for a ‘gold and glitter’ iPhone5s isn’t it?

While samsung was hell bent on ‘i dont care, i love it’ song with confusing visuals, apple made their phone flirt with their customers by asking them to ‘switch me on, I want to touch you….you are just made for love!’ It sounds chic and frankly if I could afford, I would buy this phone just because of this ad!

So like always, apple won (1), samsung – (0)owaaaaik!